Currently viewingCancel
Hey, it looks like you're new! Why not discover the benefits of PS16.

Extended Certificate in Health & Social Care

Health, Public Services and Care

Health, Public Services and Care
Health, Public Services and Care
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Alternative Title BTec Level 3: Extended Certificate in Health & Social Care
Qualification Type National Extended Certificate (BTEC)
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


This qualification aims to provide an introduction to the study of the health and social care sector and is aimed at students interested in learning about this sector as part of a balanced study programme. It is equivalent in size to one A-level.

The health and social care sector consists of two sub sectors; health care and social care. Health care encompasses all hospital activities, medical nursing homes and GP services, for example. The social care sector includes residential nursing care, residential nursing facilities, residential care facilities, domiciliary care and social work. 

How will it be delivered?

The course comprises of four units, three of which are mandatory and two are externally assessed. Students will complete units covering the following areas:

● Human Lifespan Development

● Working in Health and Social Care

● Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs

● Sociological and Psychological perspectives

Entry requirements

Any five GCSE or equivalent Grade 4’s and above and an interest in working in the health care sector.


Skip to main content Home Courses Apprenticeships Help & Guidance Upcoming Events Login