Currently viewingCancel
Hey, it looks like you're new! Why not discover the benefits of PS16.

Cambridge Technical Extended Certificate in IT

Information and Communication Technology

Information and Communication Technology
Information and Communication Technology
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Code 05839
Qualification Type GCE A/AS Level or Equivalent
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


Learners must study five units to achieve this qualification. This includes three mandatory, externally examined units while the other two optional units are centre-assessed and moderated by the exam board.

The mandatory units are: 

Unit1 – Fundamentals of IT: Information learnt in this unit will provide a solid foundation in the fundamentals of hardware, networks, software, the ethical use of computers and how business uses IT. The knowledge, skills and understanding gained in this unit will underpin the study for the additional units.

Unit 2 – Global information: This unit focusses on the uses of information in the public domain, globally, in the cloud and across the internet, by individuals and organisations. The unit teaches that good management of both data and information is essential in giving organisations a competitive edge. It also looks at both internal and external sources of information along with its constraints and limitations. 

Unit 3 – Cyber security: This unit enables learners to gain knowledge and understanding of how to deal with the range of cyber security threats, vulnerabilities and risks that impact on both individuals and organisations. Learners will be able to apply knowledge and understanding of cyber security issues and solutions by reviewing and making recommendations for ways to best protect digital systems and information. 

The optional units are:  

Unit 8 - Project management: Project management skills are essential transferable skills that can be used for all IT related projects. This unit provides learners with the opportunity to understand and use various project planning tools, skills and techniques. This would enable you to become more effective in the workplace and understand the key factors that can influence the success or failure of any IT project.

Unit 9: - Product development: This unit prepares you to undertake product development activities within the product development life cycle. You will learn about different product design methodologies and you will discover the factors that influence product development. 


You will be taught in a group by a teacher and will be expected to actively participate in lesson activities and make relevant notes using a variety of methods. There will be opportunities to undertake practical tasks, for example, taking a computer apart to identify its internal components. You will be asked to demonstrate your understanding through written reports, discussions and oral presentations. Independent learning is also essential for this course. Opportunities for employer involvement will also arise, with planned visits and guest speakers sharing their knowledge and skills about the way that IT is used within their organisations.

How will it be delivered?

The course is assessed using a combination of:

· external assessment, which is set and marked by the exam board, and

· internal assessment, where the tutor assesses the learners’ work and the exam board externally moderate.

In year 12, you will complete units 1 and 2, examined in January and June (1 ½ hours each) which comprise 50% of the overall marks. Then in year 13, you will take the unit 3 exam in January (1 hour) and complete the coursework for units 8 and 9, which altogether comprise the remaining 50% of the overall mark.

Every unit achieved will be graded as Near-Pass (in externally assessed units only), Pass, Merit or Distinction. A learner must get at least a pass for every unit to be awarded the qualification they have entered for. The overall qualification is graded as a Pass, Merit, Distinction or Distinction*.

Entry requirements

Level 2 Pass in IT or equivalent. If this subject has not been studied at GCSE/Level 2  a GCSE Grade 4 Maths is required

Your next steps...

This qualification is designed for learners who are studying to prepare for employment in the IT sector in areas such as technical support, digital technologies, application development or data analysis. Also those that want to progress onto a Level 4 IT-related apprenticeship such as Network Engineer or Software Developer who want to gain a level 3 qualification to support further study in Higher Education or to progress to university in areas such as Computing, Computer Science, Software Development, Software Engineering, ICT and Computer Networks or Business Information Systems


Skip to main content Home Courses Apprenticeships Help & Guidance Upcoming Events Login