Currently viewingCancel
Hey, it looks like you're new! Why not discover the benefits of PS16.

ICT : Level 3 BTEC Extended Diploma ( = 3 A-levels)

Information and Communication Technology

Information and Communication Technology
Information and Communication Technology
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Qualification Type National Extended Diploma (BTEC)
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


Year 1 - You will study the following 4 mandatory units:

Unit 1: Information Technology Systems.

Externally assessed through a 2 hour written examination set and marked by he exam board.

Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information

Externally assessed through a task set and marked by Pearson over 5 hours in a one-week period.

Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business

Assessed by written assignments.

Unit 4: Programming

Assessed by written assignments.

You will study 1 of the following 2 optional units in year 1:

Unit 5: Data Modelling

Assessed by internal assignment.

Unit 6: Website Development

Assessed by internal assignment.

Year 2 - You will study the following 3 mandatory units:

Unit 9: I.T. Project Management

Assessed by written assignments.

Unit 11: Cyber Security and Incidence Management

Externally assessed by a task set over a 9 hour period and marked by Pearson.

Unit 14: IT Service Delivery ext. assessed by a task set over an 11 hour period and marked by Pearson.

You will also study 4 optional units in Year 2.


This course is taught using lectures, demonstrations, practical work, group activity and individual study. Teachers are not only well qualified and experienced but also provide students with a high level of professional support.

How will it be delivered?

This Extended Diploma is a 9 hour practical exam, a 2 hour written exam and a portfolio. It is graded: Pass, Merit, and Distinction. Students can obtain a Distinction* grade overall.

Entry requirements

To enrol for an A level programme we normally expect applicants to have achieved good GCSE passes in at least six subjects, these must:

• demonstrate the suitability for Advanced Level study

• have been achieved at Grade 4/C as a minimum

• include two at Grade 5/B as a minimum

Mathematics - If not achieved within the scope of the above should normally be achieved at grade 3/D. If mathematics is not achieved at grade 4/C then it will be a requirement to continue to study at the correct level until a grade 4 is achieved. Subjects with a mathematical content will require a higher grade.

In addition to the standard College entry requirements, this particular course requires students to have achieved grade 4 or above in GCSE Mathematics.

Your next steps...

Level 3 courses earn you UCAS points allowing you to take on HND/ HNC or honours degrees.

What does this course combine well with?

This is a full time course which is equivalent to 3 A Levels.


Skip to main content Home Courses Apprenticeships Help & Guidance Upcoming Events Login