Currently viewingCancel
Hey, it looks like you're new! Why not discover the benefits of PS16.

Cambridge Technical Extended Certificate in IT

Information and Communication Technology

Information and Communication Technology
Information and Communication Technology
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Code 05839
Qualification Type GCE A/AS Level or Equivalent
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


Learners must study five units to achieve this qualification. This includes three mandatory, externally examined units while the other two optional units are centre-assessed and moderated by the exam board.

The mandatory units are:

Unit1 – Fundamentals of IT:

Unit 2 – Global information:

Unit 3 – Cyber security:

The optional units are:

Unit 8 - Project management:

Unit 9: - Product development:


You will be taught in a group by a teacher and will be expected to actively participate in lesson activities and make relevant notes using a variety of methods. There will be opportunities to undertake practical tasks, for example, taking a computer apart to identify its internal components. You will be asked to demonstrate your understanding through written reports, discussions and oral presentations. Independent learning is also essential for this course. Opportunities for employer involvement will also arise, with planned visits and guest speakers sharing their knowledge and skills about the way that IT is used within their organisations.

How will it be delivered?

The course is assessed using a combination of:

· external assessment, which is set and marked by the exam board, and

· internal assessment, where the tutor assesses the learners’ work and the exam board externally moderate.

Entry requirements

Grade 4 or above in GCSE Maths and English

Your next steps...

This qualification is designed for learners who are studying to prepare for employment in the IT sector in areas such as technical support, digital technologies, application development or data analysis. Also those that want to progress onto a Level 4 IT-related apprenticeship such as Network Engineer or Software Developer who want to gain a level 3 qualification to support further study in Higher Education or to progress to university in areas such as Computing, Computer Science, Software Development, Software Engineering, ICT and Computer Networks or Business Information Systems


Home Courses Apprenticeships Help & Guidance Upcoming Events
Sign In
Favourites Get in touch